Net Carbs

31 Jan

Following Charlotte’s suggestion I did some research on Net Carbs. On the website

http://ifitandhealthy.com/how-to-calculate-net-carbs-and-what-they-are/ I found the below. This will take my carb count a bit as the oatbran is normally quite a big bit of my carb day. Especially when I have a difficult day and succomb to a second galette!

“Calculate the net, or effective, carbohydrate content of a food, subtract the number of grams of fiber from the number of grams of carbohydrate. For example, 1 cup of blackberries has 14 grams of carbs, but almost 8 grams of it comes from fiber. Total Carbs ā€“ Fiber = Net Carbohydrate or in our example, 14 grams ā€“ 8 grams = 6 grams of net carbs.”

I can’t just follow something, I want to know How and Why!

Leave a Reply

